The award was set up to honour the life and work of Dr Peter Snow (pictured) who passed away in March 2006.  Dr Snow was a rural general practitioner based in Tapanui.

As well as caring for his patients Peter was Past-President of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners and was a member of the Otago Hospital Board and District Health Board. He was enthusiastic and active in seeking knowledge to improve the health and safety of rural communities. His work contributed to the identification of the chronic fatigue syndrome and he was influential in raising safety awareness on issues related to farming accidents.

This award celebrates Peter Snow’s contribution to rural communities as well as supporting, encouraging and recognising outstanding contributions to rural health, either in service, health research or innovations.

The inaugural winner of the award in 2007 was Dr Ron Janes and in 2008 the award was jointly won by nurse Jean Ross and Dr Pat Farry.