New faces on the Network Board

Three new rural practitioners were welcomed to the Network Board during its AGM and election at the 2018 conference. The Board reluctantly farewelled Nurse Practitioner and Pleasant Point practice owner Tania Kemp (pictured), who had served three terms. She is succeeded by South Westland-based Rural Nurse Specialist Gemma Hutton. Nurse Practitioner Rhoena Davis also comes onto the Board along with South Island Nurse and Chairperson of Rural Nurses New Zealand, Rhonda Johnson, who was co-opted onto the Board. Rose Lightfoot is now the Network’s consumer representative on the Board.

Temuka Nurse Practitioner Sharon Hansen was re-elected to the role of Network Chairperson, entering her third term, Ray Anton returns as Treasurer, Dr David Wilson takes over the Secretary duties, Raglan-based GP Dr Fiona Bolden returns to the Board as Deputy Chairperson. Others re-elected to the Board are Nancy Malloy, Dr Grahame Jelley, Professor Ross Lawrenson, Kim Gosman, Dr James Reid and Nurse Practitioner Kate Stark. Dunedin Nurse Kaz Noiri will serve one more year as the student representative on the Board.