Peter Snow Memorial Award


Dr Peter SnowThe award was set up to honour the life and work of Dr Peter Snow (pictured left) who passed away in March 2006.  Dr Snow was a rural general practitioner based in Tapanui.

As well as caring for his patients Peter was Past-President of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners and was a member of the Otago Hospital Board and District Health Board. He was enthusiastic and active in seeking knowledge to improve the health and safety of rural communities. His work contributed to the identification of the chronic fatigue syndrome and he was influential in raising safety awareness on issues related to farming accidents.

The inaugural winner of the award in 2007 was Dr Ron Janes and in 2008 the award was jointly won by nurse Jean Ross and Dr Pat Farry. 


Dr Garry NixonIn 2009 the award went to Southland rural hospital doctor Garry Nixon (pictured left). In 2008 it went to Otago-based Dr Pat Farry. Winners receive $1000 and a medal, presented at the Network’s annual conference.



Dr Tim MalloyWellsford GP Dr Tim Malloy (left) is the 2010 winner of the Peter Snow Memorial Award for 2010. Click here to view story (12.4KB). 




Martin LondonWest Coast GP Dr Martin London is the winner of the 2011 Peter Snow Memorial Award. Click here to read story. Also see Network News story.



Southland-based Rural Nurse Specialist Kirsty Murrell-McMillan is the 2012 winner of the Peter Snow Award. Click here to read more.



Two recipients shared the 2013 Peter Snow Memorial Award presented at the Network’s Rotorua conference. They were Moerewa-based GP Graeme Fenton and Hamilton-based New Zealand Institute of Rural Health CEO Robin Steed. Read more.


Two recipients also shared the 2014 award - Dr Janne Bills and former nurse and midwife Kim Gosman. Read more.

Rural hospital doctor wins Peter Snow Award


The 2015 Peter Snow Memorial Award was made to Dr Katharina Blattner, a rural hospital doctor based in the Hokianga. The award was announced at the New Zealand Rural General Practice Network’s annual conference in Rotorua (March 12-15). Dr Blattner was presented with the award by one of last year’s winners, former mid-wife Kim Gosman (pictured below). Read more.






Dr Ivan and Leonie Howie from Great Barrier Island are the recipients of the 2016 Peter Snow Memorial Award presented at the Netowrk's 2016 conference in Dunedin. Last year's recipient Kati Blattner was on hand to make the presentation to the Howies (pictured below). Read more. 






Nominations for the 2017 award are now open and will close on January 29, 2017. Click the links for nomination forms for an innovation or service (22 KB) or for research (22 KB).

For information about applications and nominations for 2017 call communications manager Rob Olsen on 04 495 5887, 021 472 556 or read more about the Peter Snow Award (53 KB)